Homemade Deodorant, et al

With a history of Alzheimer’s Disease in my family, I have always been a little concerned about conventional antiperspirant/deodorant’s aluminum content.  Thanks to Facebook, I stumbled upon this link to a simple and effective deodorant recipe . . . that actually works (it’s a great video tutorial and there are comments from many people who used the recipe with success).

This is the type of thing that makes my husband laugh at me, but he wasn’t laughing when he said, “I can’t believe how well this works” after wearing it to work the 2nd day in a row.  I am converting even the skeptic.

I even stuck it in some old containers, so it seems a lot like the conventional.  One caution is that the coconut oil melts at 80-something degrees, so we are keeping ours in the refridgerator over the summer.  Another note: this is a deodorant rather than and antiperspirant, though I haven’t noticed a big increase in sweat personally.

You can use whatever essential oils you would like to create the scent.  I used Balance.  I think she used Peppermint.  The coconut oil does have a noticible (pleasant) aroma.

I have been using this for about 3 months and it’s been great.  I have been meaning to post about it and came across this link to making homemade laundry soap and toothpaste today, which inspired me to get back to this.  Check these out as well, if you like.

This entry was posted in applications, cleaning. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Homemade Deodorant, et al

  1. Tiffani says:

    If you add a little cypress to your deodorant, it will double as anti-perspirant. Cypress is a diuretic and is indicated for use with over-perspiration in both arm pits and feet. Good luck! Can’t wait to try this recipe.

Leave a comment